skip to Main Content

“To preserve and share the cultural heritage of our Upcountry community by bringing history to life for present and future generations.”walkingtour

The Museum began by people who love Makawao and its history. In just three weeks with the help of money from the Maui Community Association, the Museum went from idea to opening day on Third Friday of November 2013.

First housed on Makawao Avenue, the Museum offered exhibits on plantations, ranching, schools and churches, polo, ethnic groups – the whole gamut of Makawao experience. From the very first day, the Museum was free to the public and open every day of the week, kept open by a dedicated group of volunteers.

The Makawao History Museum published a fundraising cookbook, Look What’s Cooking in Makawao, notecards, and postcards, as well as Discovering Historic Makawao: A Walking Tour. After one year, we moved to a smaller but more central spot on Baldwin Avenue and continued to expand our reach. Taking the walking tour as a base, we installed plaques on the selected buildings and sites in town. We have begun conducting oral history interviews of the kupuna of Makawao.

The Historic Hawai`i Foundation, impressed with our accomplishments, gave us two awards in 2015, one for the founding and first year of our existence and one for Discovering Historic Makawao.

We are a non-profit corporation governed by a board of directors, funded by the County of Maui, the sale of our products, and the generosity of our donors.

MHM Board of Directors

Mary Orwig – Accountant

Judy Mertens – Co-owner Anuhea Farm Anuhea Flowers

Christina Cowan – Fundraising Consultant for Hui No’eau, President and CEO of the Maui Arts & Cultural Center

Cherie Attix – Owner Operator of Hale Ho`okipa (B&B) Realtor with BHGRE
Jeremy Baldwin –
Katie Matthew – Museum Technician for the National Park Service
Marilyn Morikawa – Retired Teacher Kalama Intermediate
Kathy Nelson – Retired AT&T
Patt Narrowe – Freelance graphic designer
Mike Takemoto – Associate Professor Art/Humanities, University of Hawai’i Maui College

Advisory Council Members

Gail Ainsworth
Peter Baldwin
Steven Capelli
Kathy Collins
John Costales
Karen Fischer
Duane Hamamura
DeBorah Hoopingarner
Wendy Hudson
Sunny Jordan
Wilbert Kajihara
Sissy Lake Farm
Camille Lyons
Kristina Lyons
Theo Morrison
Jim Niess
Darrell Orwig
Brook Starr
Theresa Thompson
Charlene Thompson
Benny Uyetake

Back To Top